Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo Book Review

  
Author: Leigh Bardugo

Series Name: Grisha Trilogy

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publisher: Square Fish

Publication Date: May 7, 2013



Alina is a mapmaker for the first army. Her mission was to cross the Fold so they could get supplies. Her group gets attacked and there is a light. Alina finds out that she is Grisha, the sun summoner and the Darking plans to use her to get rid of the Fold.

I picked up Shadow and Bone book in Chapters on Saturday because I had heard a lot of great things about it online. I began reading it as soon as I got home and I was pulled into the world. I didn’t want to leave the world because it was fascinating. It is different from any other book I have read and I really like that about it. I want to learn more about the culture and their religion. I gave this book a 5/5 stars and I need more.

  

Luckily I bought the second book, Siege and Storm, a day later, so I’m currently reading it. 

Funny Story about the book: I was hanging out with my friend, Ayanna and I read part of a chapter out loud to her. There was a part where two peoples cheeks were touching, so obviously Ayanna and I had to do that. We failed because we were both wearing glasses. Also we kept picturing the Volcra as our friend Volk because volc and volk sound the same, to me. It was very funny picturing our friend with leathery wings, attacking us.

~SPOILER WARNING~

Whenever Alina is talking to the Darkling I can just feel that they are meant for each other. I read the Darkling using a different voice when he’s talking to Alina and I hope that in one of the books they become a thing because I ship it so much. I don’t feel anything between her and Mal and I don’t like how they’re together. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. pigeonreads says:

    *THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS COMMENT*

    I actually ship the Darkling and Alina, too but there’s something about Mal and Alina which makes me think. When the Darkling flashes glimpses of pain whenever Alina calls for Mal, I CAN JUST FEEL IT. But I’m thinking HOW IN THE WORLD can that happen with the Darkling being evil and all but ahhhh, I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

