Top Standalones I Read in 2015

These are my favourite stand alones I read in 2016. I will also include books where only the first book in the series has been released. 



The Martian by Andy Weir

This book is so funny, I really enjoyed it. The movie was good but it left out my favourite part. 

  
Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Beauty and the Beast retelling! I love retellings and it was so good. 

  

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
This is a beautiful story with amazing illustrations by Jim Kay. I cried a bit but its going to be a movie next year. I can’t wait!

   
Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski 

Such a fun story that actually made me want to get my flu shot because of what happened in the book. 

  
I Was Here by Gayle Foreman 

I just really enjoyed this story but it was kinda sad. I love the mystery part (if it actually is a mystery, I’m just going to call it that.). 

  
Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

It’s really sad what happened but it’s a really enjoyable story. 

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld 

LOVE this book. This was the first book I finished this year and it was so fun. I love all the Scott Westerfeld books I have read. 

  
The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

I love the setting for this story. I read the first paragraph of the synopsis and I had to buy the book. 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Another Beauty and the Beast retelling! This has to be Sarah’s best book she has written. 

  
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 

I love the format and I love the characters. It’s was so easy to read pages because the format changed so often (like when I read the Amazing Book is Not on Fire). 

  

Leave a Reply

