Overhyped Books

As you know there is hype surrounding plenty of books. That hype will either make you want to stay away from that book or make you want to read the book. Sometimes after I read a book I find out how much hype there is I will get sick of hearing about it and start disliking it. 

This is a very controversial topic so please no hate if you love a book. Please note this is my personal opinion and I don’t hate all these books. 

  

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

This book is boring and it is not written well. I don’t understand how so many people like it. I have told people that it is not written well and they say it was because she is 16, that’s not an excuse for it to be a favourite. Please tell me why people love it because seriously I don’t understand. 

  
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

There was so much hype around this book I could not wait to go read it. I got bored and felt that there was no plot until the end of the book. I didn’t like the relationship between Khalid and Shahrzad. 

   
   
Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I have read the first three books in this series and I am so bored. This is a favourite series of so many people so I will finish eventually. So far I don’t ship Clary and Jace because they don’t seem to be right for each other. I am going to watch the tv show because I am interested. 

  
Endgame: The Calling by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

It’s so boring and not worth buying. It sets up the other books in the series but I’m not interested in reading those books. 

  

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell 

This is a good book but people make it sound like it is better than it is. It’s decent but not the best. Rainbow Rowell is still amazing because Fangirl and Carry On❤️

  
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green 

This book actually bored me so much I had to put it off for a few months. The only reason I read this book is because a bunch of people were reading it in my world geography class and the movie was coming out. The book was boring and the movie wasn’t that good. I have no plans to read anymore John Green in the future.

  

Divergent by Veronica Roth

It’s a good book series, I read the first one before I even knew it was going to be a movie. The movies are terrible and they will ruin the series for you. I don’t think I will ever watch Allegiant though. I think there is so much hype that it forced me to not like the series anymore. I want to reread the series because I remember loving it. 

  
The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

I heard this book was really good, I rushed to the store to buy it. It was boring and the characters were kind of one dimensional. I don’t see the next book going anywhere. 
Do you agree with my opinions? What are your opinions on overhyped books? Comment what you think below. 

All photos from Goodreads.com

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lauren says:

    Completely agree on Mortal Instruments and Divergent. I wanted to like them but… so boring 😦

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with your thoughts on The Murder Complex and Eleanor and Park! I wasn’t too big of a fan of either and I’d heard such great things. It’s too bad and really disappointing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr. I really wanted to love both

      Like

Leave a Reply

