January Wrap Up and February TBR!

Can you believe that it’s has already been 2016 for a month!!! January has gone by so quickly. School has been decent, the Internet has been fun and books have been my escape from reality.

Books!

This month I kinda had a few small reading slumps. I started a bunch of books that I could not continue reading because I was not up for that genre at the moment. I had Passenger by Alexandra Bracken and Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld sitting on my nightstand for like three weeks until I decided to move on. Eventually I started reading some ebooks and I got hooked. 

I started out the year by reading This May Sound Crazy by Abigail Breslin. It was pretty much Abigail Breslin trying to convince you that she is not crazy, which she’s not, she’s just obsessed with boys (I like fictional books better). The book was kinda boring but also kinda entertaining. I gave the book a 3/5 stars. 

  
The second book I read was When We Wake by Karen Healey. I haven’t heard anything about it online but when I saw it for $6 at Coles I thought it looked interesting. There are not many books (that I have heard of) like this in the world (that I know of). It’s about a girl who died and 100 years later she is revived as the first successful person to come back to life. I gave this book a 4/5 stars. 

On January 3rd I went to Chapters and I saw Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. It was out two day before the release, I was so excited!!! I started reading it as soon as I got home and I was really enjoying it. I got about 100 pages in, over a series of two weeks and decided that I had to move on and read something else. 

For a while I have had my eye on The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs. I had so much fun reading this book and I learned so much about the Fangirl universe. This is a must read for any Fangirl. 50000000000/5 stars because I can give it that rating.  

  
I listened to the audiobook My Heart and Other Black Holes on my phone. I had a good time listening to, always wanting to know what will happen next. It’s about a girl with depression who gets a suicide partner. The books is amazing, I gave it a 5/5 stars. 

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld was a book that I had been highly anticipating for when it came out in September. Unfortunately I never ended up buying it. My parents bought it for me for Christmas and I was so excited to read it. Just like Passenger I was enjoying it but it wasn’t what I was looking for at the moment. 

When I remembered that the Red Queen novellas were out I decided that I didn’t want the book so I went to the library website and borrowed the Queen Song novella by Victoria Aveyard. It’s about how the queen became queen. It’s pretty interesting so I gave it a 3/5 starts. 

One day my parents decided to make me feel guilty for having bought so many books (I only own like 80) so I decided that I would check out the Kobo store. I found the Keatyn Chronicles books 4-6 and it reminded me that I had the first book on my iPad because it was free. The Keatyn Chronicles book one, Stalk Me by Jillian Dodd was AMAZING. As soon as I finished I knew I need the next book so I bought the books 1-3 bind up ebook for $4. I read the next two in like three days. When I had finished I knew that I need the book after but the price had risen to $25 and I didn’t feel like spending money. I gave all the books 4/5 stars. 

After I finished books 1-3 of the Keatyn Chronicles I was in a reading slump. I didn’t feel like spending money but I didn’t feel like reading the (50) books on my TBR. After a long search on iBooks I found That Boy by Jillian Dodd, the same author as the Keatyn Chronicles. I stayed up till 1:30am and finished that book, it was pretty darn great just like every other Jillian Dodd book I have read. 

On the last day of the month I finally decided to pick up Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa and I read it all in like 5 hours (total, not one sitting.). It was kinda boring but at the same time I enjoyed it. I wish there was more of a story, not just day to day life, almost nonexistent parents and confusing relationships. I gave it a 3/5 stars because I didn’t not like it but I didn’t love it. 

  
Sunday afternoon I went out to heaven (aka Chapters) because I wanted to buy The Siren by Kiera Cass. The book was 40% off and I had $5 plum points rewards (you probably know what that is if you have a Chapters/ Indigo membership). I read the original of this book in 2013 or something and I loved it. Since I loved the old version I knew that this would probably not be a disappointment so I bought it (and the cover is beautiful). I began reading it as soon as I got home and I am still reading it (btw it’s February). 

I think I had a pretty great reading month with nine books and one novella. I’ve done better but I did go through a few small reading slumps. For those of you too lazy to read all that (like me) here is a list of all the books read in January 2016:

  • This May Sound Crazy by Abigail Breslin
  • When We Wake by Karen Healey
  • The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Geek Girls by Sam Maggs
  • My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
  • Queen Song by Victoria Aveyard 
  • Stalk Me by Jillian Dodd
  • Kiss Me by Jillian Dodd
  • Date Me by Jillian Dodd
  • That Boy by Jillian Dodd
  • Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

In the beginning of the month I planned to read seven books (you can see the list here). Only one book on that list I was able to read, This May Sound Crazy by Abigail Breslin. I tried to read three of the books on that list but I wasn’t feeling like reading them. 

Blog!

The last week and a bit of January I was in a bit of a blogging hiatus. I have only been blogging for two months now (over that!!) and I kinda felt bored. Don’t worry I’m back to writing posts up (so far I have two but I’m currently writing away). 

I’ve recently started taking some photos of my books (that actually look decent) so I’m hoping to get plenty of nice looking photos for my blog. One problem I have with taking photos is that I have like a two hour time frame to take them because by the time I get home from school at 3pm it’s completely dark by 5pm. I use the Aviary photo editor app to edit my photos, I love it <3. 

Social Media Stats and Info!

It’s really exciting and makes me feel popular because I have a lot of followers on the social medias my blog!

  • On WordPress: 35 Followers!
  • On Bloglovin: 13 Followers!
  • On Twitter: 84 Followers!

In January I also got a Tumblr and a Pinterest. I don’t really use them, I don’t really know what to post but I’m gonna use them eventually.

February TBR

  

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 
  • The Siren by Kiera Cass
  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

I am not great at choosing books to read ahead of time because I am a mood reader. Right now I am in the mood to read those books but that may change. 

I will probably get a bookstagram this month. (Funny story… I had a bookstagram summer 2015 but I didn’t work out. It was terrible… Like actually it’s terrible. I rarely posted and the photos were ugly.) I’m going to try again, with nicer photos and regular posts.

How was January for you? If you like this post follow me on any of these sites below

WordPress

Bloglovin 

Twitter

Goodreads

Pinterest

Tumblr

Leave a Reply

