A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas



A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Goodreads Summary

Have you read this book yet? I originally read it in October 2015 and I recently decided to reread it. The first time I read this book I loved it and my reread made me fall in love with it all over again. I’m not all that great at this book review thing so every time I write them differently.

If you have not read this book yet GO READ IT! This book is one of my favorite books of all time.


The Characters

These are some of the most well developed characters I have ever read. They all have so much character development. I don’t want to give away too much so here are a few key points.


  • The protaganist
  • Very strong
  • Loyal to her family


  • Feyre’s eldest sister
  • Loyal and cares for her sister
  • Does not normally do work


  • Feyre’s second older sister
  • Very gentle

Feyre’s Father

  • After Feyre’s mother died he stopped caring so Feyre had to support the family
  • Carves wood to make money (even though he doesn’t make any)


  • High Lord of the Spring Court
  • Takes Feyre as a prisoner for killing Andras


  • Emissary for the Spring Court
  • Great bromance with Tamlin


  • High Lord of the Night Court
  • Given the nickname “Amarantha’s Whore”


  • The antagonist
  • High Queen of Prythian
  • Lives Under the Mountain


The Setting

The setting in A Court of Thorns and Roses is so well described. It is amazing to be able to learn about the “lay of the land” yourself so i’ll give you minimal information.

Feyre’s Village

  • Where Feyre and her family live
  • Close to the border of Prythian and the Mortal Lands


  • The land of the fae
  • Divided into seven courts: The Spring Court, The Summer Court, The Autumn Court, The Winter Court, The Day Court, The Dawn Court, and The Night Court

The Spring Court

  • Where Tamlin lives
  • Feyre is taken here to live the rest of her life

Under the Mountain

  • Where Amarantha has made her home
  • Keeps all high fae prisoner as part of her court


Why do I love it?

This book is amazing. Between the characters and the plot this is currently my favourite book of all time. Sarah J. Maas did an amazing job with world building and character development. I am in love with everything about this novel and I’m having a hard time putting it in words. 

Have you read A Court of Thorns and Roses? Do you love it as much as I?


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yep, I do love it as much as you do! I didn’t think it was going to turn out as good as it did and I’m really glad that I gave it a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s