My Very Long Book Slump

on

  
I’ve been in a book slump for three months now. Technically it has been several reading slumps over the past three months because I’ve had multiple reading sprints (let’s call them that).

It started at the end of December when I decided to buy a bunch of books and my parents bought me a few books. I didn’t know what to read first so I decided to read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I ended up forcing myself to read it because I wanted to read one more book in 2015 and it was one of those Artfolds so I wanted it as a decoration. Lets just say that I made myself read over 200 pages of a book that I HATED in one afternoon. The next day I read a really short book of essays, This May Sound Crazy by Abigail Breslin and it was entertaining but overall not that great. After that I read When We Wake by Karen Healey but it took me a few days because I wasn’t in the mood to read. Suddenly it was January 2nd and I saw Passenger by Alexandra Bracken in Chapters THREEEEE days before it was supposed to be released, obviously I bought it. For the next two weeks I was reading it but I had only read like 60 pages so I put it away to move on. I ended up not being able to get into Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld either so I resorted to ebooks. I read five ebooks in January but sadly i was unable to really get into any physical books.

In February I spent the entire first week reading The Siren by Kiera Cass and I took wayyyyyy too long reading that book. For the rest of the month I mostly read ebooks again except for at the end of the month where I quickly read #scandal by Sarah Ockler because it fit with my contemporary theme but it took me a few days longer than I would have liked. I found that I was in a book slump for anything that wasn’t an ebook contemporary novel. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo was a book that I picked up at the end of February but I couldn’t get into it, probably because of it’s fantasy theme but I’m going to try and read it again soon. 

Its the 23rd of March and I’ve finished two books this month. I think I may be getting out of my reading slump though because yesterday I read for like two hours and I finally finished Passenger. Be happy for me because it has been torture not wanting to read but feeling guilty for not reading.

Pro Tip: Don’t feel guilty for not feeling like reading. Go do something else instead of reading.

For the next few weeks you’ll get to see a few more book slump related posts! So get ready to learn about this thing they call THE BOOK SLUMP!

Leave a Reply

