The Island by S. Usher Evans Review

img_4101

The Island by S. Usher Evans is am amazing book that almost killed me. I went into this book not knowing much other than the fact that a bunch of bloggers love it, there is a romance and they are on an island. The fact that everyone loved it made me want to read it.

During BHPChat the other night I saw that someone was reading The Chasm by S. Usher Evans. I commented asking how it was and saying that I wanted to read it. The author, S. Usher Evans herself asked if I wanted to review it. A few minutes later I am sending her my email and I get the ebook. I’ve never gotten a book to review before so this better be a good review.

Prince Galian is third in line to the throne, but prefers his place as a resident at the Royal Kylaen Hospital. When his father urges him to join the military to help reclaim their colony, Galian is forced to put aside his oath to Do No Harm and fight a war he does not believe in.

Across the great Madion Sea, Captain Theo Kallistrate dreams of a day when she is no longer bound by conscription to fight for her country’s independence. But when the Kylaens threaten, honor and duty call her to the front lines to fight off the oppressors.

When an air skirmish goes wrong, both Theo and Galian crash on a remote island hundreds of miles from either nation. Grievously injured, Theo must rely on Galian’s medical expertise, and Galian must rely on Theo’s survival skills, to live another day in a harsh and unforgiving terrain.

Can they put aside their differences long enough to survive? Or will the war that brought them to the island tear them apart?

The Island is the first in a new romance trilogy by S. Usher Evans, author of the Razia series and Empath.

Goodreads

 Let’s start by saying again that this book was amazing. I gave it a 4/5 stars. I read the entire book in practically four sittings. It is only a 260 page paperback but lately I haven’t read that much. After reading this amazing book all I want to do is read now.

S. Usher Evan’s writing style agreed with me. The Island had a dual point of view (pov) with Theo, a Raven captain and Galian, a Kylaen prince. I saw inside the minds of both Theo and Galian which was really cool because they were fighting and you could see their true thoughts.

img_4099

The world that they live in seems to be very complex. There’s Kylae, the country that’s big and powerful. There’s also Rave, an old colony of Kylae that declared independence 50 years ago. Since Rave declared independence they have been at constant war with Kylae. Galian and Theo are stuck on an island somewhere in The Madion Sea, the sea that separates all these countries.

 The politics surrounding the two countries is so interesting. You can see Kylae with it’s dictator like king (and dad) and then there is Rave who has only had two presidents in the 50 years it has been independent. If you can’t see some corruptness just in that you must be blind. I can’t wait for the next book where I will be able to explore this world even further and see how each country’s governing officials stay in power.

Theo and Galian are OTP material. They are so cute together but the fact that they were alone on the island makes me think that they only loved each other because they had nothing else to love. Now I doubt that ends up being true because I’ve seen ad about the third book on Twitter… Anyways I ship it and I hope it works out.

camping7
I have taken this from S. Usher Evans Pinterest. This photo perfectly describes one scene in the book. I need more photos on that page.

I loved hearing about how Theo grew up. She was an orphan who was conscripted at the age of 12 and somehow has not died in the seven years she’s been in the military. Hearing about Rave’s orphans is fascinating yet also very sad that anyone would have to live though that.

Galian grew up as the son his father, the king hated. As acts of rebellion Gallian went out and became a playboy but once he became a doctor he realized what he wanted to do with his life. (I think that reading this book has kind of made me consider becoming a doctor in the future but I’m like “nope” because I’d fail.)

My only problem with the book was that Galian saves Theo a bunch of times. Now there is nothing wrong with that except that it follows the “prince saves helpless girl” trope. He saves her from like four different type of dangers throughout the novel multiple times. The only time Theo really needs to save Galian she freaks out. I love this book so much that it may possibly be one of my favorites and that is the one thing I didn’t like.

Have you read The Island by S. Usher Evans? I want to know your thoughts.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Frank says:

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours
    today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the web will be much more useful
    than ever before.

    Like

  2. As a site owner I think the content material here
    is super excellent, thank you for your efforts.

    Like

  3. Elizbeth says:

    Nice to be visiting your blog once more. Good this post. Thanks
    for sharing.

    Like

  4. Some truly interesting points you have written.Assisted me a lot,
    just what I was looking for :D.

    Like

Leave a Reply

