Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2) by Cassandra Clare Review

 

I hated the first two books in Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and I thought the third book was okay. I have been reluctant to carry on with the Mortal Instruments but I have wanted to read The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. The first book, Clockwork Angel was phenomenal, I gave it 4/5 stars (sadly I didn’t write a review). Clockwork Prince was not as good as the first novel because of a love triangle, so I gave it 3/5 stars.

I would suggest not reading this review if you have not read the previous book, Clockwork Angel because possible spoilers. Don’t worry, I will not spoil Clockwork Prince.

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.
With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

Goodreads

img_4104

At the beginning of the book Charlotte is given two weeks to get a lead on finding Mortman (aka the Magister). As any sane person would do she freaked out and went to look at all the records to see if there was anything, there wasn’t. Charlotte does not play a lead role in this book and I’m sad about that because I love her and I want entire novel just about her.

My favorite part of the book would have to be when Henry and Charlotte had an argument. This part alone is a perfectly reasonable reason to why you should buy the book. Both Charlotte and Henry believe that their spouse does not love them and it is the greatest thing ever.

I like Will but in this book he keeps making inappropriate advances on Tessa and I don’t like that. In Clockwork Angel he said that she could be his whore because he couldn’t marry her and now he wants her back. TOO BAD YOU MISSED YOUR CHANCE MOVE ON. In case you can’t tell Will is really annoying and stupid the entire novel. My NOPT.

I ship Tessa with Jem. They are flirting the entire novel and they spend some time together that is not appropriate because they are not married. I don’t know what will happen with Jem’s “condition” because Mortman has control of the drug but it momentarily stated that being with Tessa has made him not need as much of the drug. There have been theories forming in my mind (mostly because I’ve been slightly spoiled).

As you can probably tell there is a love triangle in this book that I am not okay with. I’m sorry for my obvious bias but I ship Tessa and Jem. I don’t know what will happen in the future of Shadowhunter world but I’m really scared. Will get the hell out of Jem and Tessa’s love.

There is another NOPT in this novel that I dare not mention but you are very sad when it get’s broken up because you have messed up feels that believe his charade. I will not

I have been spoiled for the future of the books but not clearly spoiled so I am kind of freaking out about what’s going to happen in the next book.

Have you read this book or do you want to read it? Tell me in the comments.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mizschoneng says:

    Not really a big fan of her novel. When I read the first book of Mortal Instruments I got bored and couldn’t finished it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Clockwork Prince is the worst book in The Infernal Devices. In The Mortal Instruments the first two books for mostly introductory books and they are boring

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

