Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra Clare Review

img_4105

Have you read The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare yet? If not you probably should because I’m obsessed with it. If you need more read my post about why you should read The Infernal Devices. If you’ve read the first book, Clockwork Angel you should read my review of the second book, Clockwork Prince to get you pumped. If you’ve read the first two books in the series you’re in the right place because I’m going to make you want to finish this series.

(If you haven’t read the first two books I would suggest not reading this review because of possible spoilers. You are fine is you haven’t read this book.)

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Goodreads

This book is amazing. I gave it a 5/5 stars because it was so hard to put this book down. After reading the slightly disappointing Clockwork Prince I was so happy that Cassandra Clare picked up her game with this book. I literally was smiling the entire time reading the book because it was so good.

Cassandra Clare’s writing style is literally my favorite thing ever to read now. She switches between multiple point of views throughout each chapter. That definitely helps when one character is getting on your nerves so you want to read from the other peoples point of view.

All the characters ended up with “the right person” and I’m not even judgmental of how everyone in that small group found happiness because it was done in such an amazing way.

In Clockwork Prince, Gideon Lightwood starts flirting with Sophie, the maid and they finally get together and I’m so happy!! Plus his brother Gabriel finds someone and it’s cute but I don’t ship it.

Remember at the end of Clockwork Prince how Cecily, Will’s younger sister shows up at the Institute? Ya, she is here to bring my Will home but she’s a Shadowhunter in the blood. The only problem I have with her is that she’s 15 and she acts like she was a lot older.

The entire novel there is correspondence between the Consul and the members of the council about who the next Consul should be. The council believes that my favorite character, Charlotte Brandwell Fairchild should be the next Consul but the current Consul, Josiah Wayland is sexist. Josiah wants his son to become Consul even though he has no experience and Charlotte is the obvious best choice.

As it is the finale to The Infernal Devices we are going to want to defeat Mortman for once and for all. Mortman is a very persuasive man and I’m not even embarrassed to say that I would’ve helped him had I been Tessa. He honestly seemed to have legitimate reasons to want to destroy the Shadowhunters.

Will is actually slightly less of a problem in this book but as we all know moodiness runs in the Herondale family (*cough cough* Jace). With his sister around he wants to impress her kind of and now he must help out because of the yin fen running out.

JUST READ THIS BOOK SO I CAN SCREAM AT YOU ABOUT SPOILERY THINGS BECAUSE TESSA AND CREW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lol if you’ve read this book tell me and we can dm about it on Twitter or something.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. zoeyriver says:

    Ah, Cloclwork Princess… this books brings up so many memories.
    Cassandra Calre is forever one of my all time favorite authors. I love her writing, her characters, her world.
    The Infernal Devices broke my heard, shattered my soul and stepped on the pieces. I was in hysterics and tears towards the end of the book.
    Right now I’m not so patiently waiting for Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices book 2). April is still so so far away…

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally understand what you mean because this book was truly spectacular

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

