How to Write a Book Review

img_4116Guys I’ve done it! I’ve finally figured out this mysterious art of writing book reviews! After blogging for over 7 months the information is now in my brain… or shall I say on the paper (insert winky face emoji).

I’ve heard that people make annotations in their books but I honestly don’t understand how you do that because I never know when to do them (yo if you want to tell me I would love to learn). I have another trick and it works pretty well for me so far. Want to know what it is?

I write the topics that I want to cover in my review in a notebook when I finish the book.

Yes, it’s that simple. Literally what I do is I grab my small green notebook, aka my “book review book”. On a new page I write a few key points (as shown below)

 

  • I sob a lot
  • I was on the edge of my seat the entire time
  • Antarctica (the politics)
  • Eden has the cure
  • Day and June feels
  • I went into this story not knowing much other than suicide
  • Girls the jock rather that the guy
  • Very deep story line
  • Bullying
  • See from a different perspective
  • 4/5 stars
  • Couldn’t put it down

(Can you guess what books those were from? Champion by Marie Lu and Random by Tom Leveen)

After I write these notes I wait a few days before writing the review, allowing time for the story to settle in my mind. Normally I would forget the entire novel in that time but my notes are pretty good for me to help jog my memory.

I sit down at my laptop to write the review. The first thing I do is paste the Goodreads description and link in a quote box. Then I start writing information pertaining to each of my topics.

It’s that simple. Like you’ll be surprised about how simple it is if you try it. Look at any of my reviews from the 13th of June, 2016 on and they all use this algorithm. If you have any questions about it feel free to ask me because I feel really smart having thought of this way to write reviews.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. bitchybookreviews says:

    Awesome system. I’ll have to give this try for my next review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I found it super convenient and made my life 10x easier

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

