Champion (Legend, #3) by Marie Lu Book Review

I read the first book in this series last June and the sequel last August. They were both good books but Champion has to be the best in the entire series. I gave it a 4/5 stars. The Legend series is a very hyped up series but trust me, it’s lives up to the hype.

img_4117

spoilers for Legend and Prodigy by Marie Lu. I will NOT spoil Champion for you.

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

 

I read Champion about 10 months after Prodigy, the second book in the series and surprisingly I remembered a lot. I kind of forgot about what happened to Day’s family and the plague but otherwise I remembered everything.

At the end of Prodigy, June and Day are considered heroes to the Republic but Day moves away with his little brother Eden, his last surviving relative. Day and June have not been in contact for months but on Independence Day, Day is called back to the capital to discuss matters with the Elector-Primo and the Princeps- Elect. Day finds out that a plague has spread in the Colonies, and his brother Eden has the cure. They want to conduct experiments on Eden to get the cure but his overprotective big bother will not allow it, even if it starts war again.

In Legend and Prodigy you only really hear about the Republic and the Colonies but in Champion we get to learn about the entire world and wtf is going on everywhere else. We get to travel to the country of Antarctica and I would move there even though it has a huge potential to be corrupt (I think Marie Lu should write a novella about someones life there because that’s interesting). The politics man. The politics.

There were so many times that I had no idea what was going to happen. I was literally so scared for my life (as well as the life of the characters…). I was on the edge of my seat hoping that nothing bad would happen to my sweet cinnamon rolls.

Theres quite a few feels in this book between the ship, Day and June. There’s a love triangle but it’s barely there and if you decide to judge this book based on that I will laugh in your face”ha ha” because you are stupid (#sorrynotsorry).

A few months ago Lauren DeStefano, author of The Chemical Garden series and the Internment Chronicles read the Legend series a few months ago and I remember all of her tweets. She talked about how it will break you and she recommended it to all her friends and it broke them. It brought me amusement then reading about it and now I realize how serious this is.

THIS BOOK BROKE ME.

Mostly at the end but the entire book but mostly at the end. The epilogue made me sob a lot of tears (it’s a good thing I was home alone). So sad and I’m not going to say anymore for fear of spoilers. I’m kind of mad at Marie Lu but at the same time happy because what she did with that book. That book oh my god.

So if you want a good book that will keep you on the edge of your seat and break you this is probably for you. Please continue and I’ll cry into your arm.

Have you read this book or do you want to because them feels?

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

