Random by Tom Leevan Book Review

 

Who’s the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why.

Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It’s a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on the line.

He asks for a single thing—one reason not to kill himself.

img_4118The request plunges her into confusion. Because if this random caller actually does what he plans, he’ll be the second person connected to Tori to take his own life. And the first just might land her in jail. After her Facebook page became Exhibit A in a tragic national news story about cyberbullying, Tori can’t help but suspect the caller is a fraud. But what if he’s not? Her words alone may hold the power of life or death.

With the clock ticking, Tori has little time to save a stranger—and maybe redeem herself—leading to a startling conclusion that changes everything…

Goodreads

I had never heard of Tom Leevan before that day in June when I was hanging out in the library with some friends. My friend Maddie and I were recommending books to each other and she told me to read Random. I immediately got up to go get it because it sounded interesting.

Honestly I didn’t actually know anything about the book going into it other than two of my friends loved it and something to do with suicide. The book was short so I was motivated to take a few hours out of my day to enjoy an easy read… or so I thought. I heard that the book was deep from Maddie but I didn’t realize it was THAT deep. For days after I kept thinking about what I just read.

The main character of this book is a major jock. Normally in YA books jocks are male but Tori is female. She went into high school and immediately becomes one of the top players on her softball team. This leads to popularity and her ditching old friends. One of her friends comments on her Facebook posts and then everyone attacks him with rude comments. Tori is one of those bullies.

It is cool to read a book from the bullies point of view because normally it is from the victims point of view. You get a look into Tori’s brain and you can see that she believes that she is innocent.

One night near midnight someone “randomly” calls her saying they will commit suicide if she doesn’t give him one reason to live. During this night Tori learns a great deal about herself and the boy who was driven to suicide.

I think that I learned a lot while reading this book. A lot of people think that it is obvious to “the bully” what they are doing but sometimes it’s not. Last year I had a friend who kept getting mad at me and for so long I couldn’t see what I was doing wrong. No, I was not bullying but there were problems and stuff. It’s eye opening to how naive people are about their actions.

I would recommend this to almost anything unless suicide talk is a trigger for you. It was a really quick read that will leave you thinking for days. I gave the book a 4/5 stars.

(As soon as I marked that I was currently reading this on Goodreads two people marked as to read. I feel powerful.)

Have you read Random yet? Do you want to?

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

