Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella Book Review

You know what I don’t read much of? Standalones and contemporaries. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella is both. This book was on unfamiliar ground for me because I normally stick to science fiction and fantasy series. I had heard amazing things about Sophie Kinsella but never read her books. Let me tell you that I was amazed and gave Finding Audrey 4/5 stars.

img_4124-1

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

Goodreads

This was surprisingly a really good book. I had heard amazing things about this book from people that I trust but I never believed that it would be my cup of tea. It was definitely a book I was meant to read.

The protagonist Audrey suffers from an anxiety disorder. No, I do not have an anxiety disorder but I do get really bad anxiety in social situations. Sure, a lot of the stuff she felt I have not felt but I could still relate to how she felt sometimes.

Another thing that makes this book so relatable is that Audrey is not even a year younger than me. I think she was even in the same grade as me. I have the same teenagery thoughts that she has because we’re of that age.

I really liked how the romance was not the number 1 part of the story. While reading the synopsis I got the impression that suddenly she would meet Linus and be completely cured. Thankfully that is not how it played out. Over the course of months Audrey gradually gets better and Linus helps some but he is kind of separate. We get to see Audrey doing really well and when she’s not. Anyone should know how those shitty days are but Aurdey’s are a lot worse.

Audrey didn’t even have the normal ya family life. She had a helicopter mom and a brother who spends all his time playing games online. I don’t know what you think but normally parents in YA are almost nonexistent and the brother is smoking weed or doing sports.

This was a very quick and easy read. I read it in three sittings. It is really good for any teenager looking for something. I learned more about anxiety disorders while reading this. Twas very good.

Have you read Finding Audrey or do you want to read it?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jasmine says:

    I saw that this book was listed as a nominee best books of 2015 on goodreads. Is this book has as much humor as her shopaholic one?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never read her shopaholic series so I wouldn’t know. Sorry

      Like

      1. Jasmine says:

        I didn’t read the whole series. I only liked the first book. But her writing has humor that makes the read fun and happy.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well Finding Audrey was fun to read and made me happy

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

