Mini Reviews #1: The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore, Party by Tom Leevan, and Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

I’m going to start writing mini reviews here on the blog! There are plenty of books out there that I read and I don’t have much to say about them. I want to share my thoughts on these books but there is not enough thoughts for a full review or I’m being lazy.

The Fate of Ten (Lorien Legacies, #6) by Pittacus Lore

img_4125-1

The sixth book in the thrilling, action-packed, New York Timesbestselling I Am Number Four series! For years the Garde have fought the Mogadorians in secret. Now all of that has changed. The invasion has begun. If the Garde can’t find a way to stop the Mogs, humanity will suffer the same fate as the Lorien: annihilation.

There is still hope. When the Elders sent the Garde to Earth, they had a plan—one which the Garde are finally starting to understand. In the climax of The Revenge of Seven, a group of the Garde traveled to an ancient pyramid in Mexico known to their people as the Sanctuary. There they awoke a power that had been hidden within our planet for generations. Now this power can save the world . . . or destroy it. It will all depend on who wields it.

Goodreads

This book is so good. I love this series so much and I gave this book a 5/5 stars! I would suggest not reading this review if you have not read up to The Revenge of Seven in the Lorien Legacies series.

I procrastinated reading this book for so long but when the last book, United as One came out I knew I needed to pick this book up. I was reminded of all things I love about this series while reading it. I was smiling so much during this book because all the characters are my cute little cinnamon rolls (even Nine although he was absent for most of the book. I would say also Setrákus Ra or Phiri Dun-Ra but those Mogadorians just piss me off). 

At the end of The Revenge of Seven the Mogs invade New York. Throughout the book they are taking over the world, letting the people surrender or they die. We meet a pretty badass young lady who develops legacies, like Sam. She fights back and it’s pretty cool.

We get to take a trip to Mexico because the Lorien Sanctuary is there and they need to protect it from the evil Setrákus Ra because he’s kind of taking over the Earth and trying to kill all the Lorien. Fun Fun.

Our Emma is sadly stuck with dear old Granddaddy Setrákus Ra. He’s been doing experiments on her and she has a super cool legacy. I’m really sad we didn’t have more of my favorite child.

Party by Tom Leevan

img_4126-1It’s saturday night in Santa Barbara and school is done for the year. Everyone is headed to the same party. Or at least it seems that way. The place is packed. The beer is flowing. Simple, right? But for 11 different people the motives are way more complicated. As each character takes a turn and tells his or her story, the eleven individuals intersect, and reconnect, collide, and combine in ways that none of them ever saw coming.

Goodreads

Party by Tom Leevan is written in a different style than anything I’ve read before. It is told in 11 points of view. Each of these 11 people get one chapter to tell their story. All of their lives interconnect at this party and none of them are there to just party.

I really liked the concept of this book. It was really boring during some peoples chapters but others were pretty interesting. My favorite character would have to be Beckett. She is introduced in the first chapter and you can see growth as a character throughout the novel unlike all the other characters. I only really cared about her story because the others bored me. They were like “My girlfriend broke up with me, I want her back” or “I want to get laid” or “I want to finally talk to her”. Beckett’s was different and I liked her better so much more for it.

All the characters made stupid decisions but in the end they were all fine, even Azize. I would not go back and change any of their actions because then Beckett would not have talked to anyone and rekindled her life.

At the end I was left thinking about all these characters lives and how their actions would affect them. It wasn’t as deep as Tom Leevan’s other book Random but it was still deep and got you thinking. I liked this book but got really bored at times so I’m giving it a 3/5 stars.

Tell The Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

img_7391

In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own—one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised.

Lucie alone knows of the deadly connection the young men share, and even as the knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself?

Celebrated author Sarah Rees Brennan tells a magical tale of romance and revolution, love and loss.

Goodreads

I listened to this book via audiobook and it was okay. I ended up giving the book a 2/5 stars. The story is kind of confusing because it seemed like you were expected to know the events that took place before the story. You don’t find out what happened to them until laterin the story and even then you only get small pieces at a time.

The concept of the story is really cool but I think that Sarah could have done a better job with the world building because at times it seemed like I was far in the future, at times it seemed like present day and at times it seemed like the 18th century. I would love to see the world but it is so corrupt and there is no way that there could be a good world after all the segregation.

Have you read any of these books? If so tell me your thoughts!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

