What’s with the haters?

img_5424

On Twitter this past day a lot of people have talked about this account that followed a bunch of people. That account was referring to Rowan Whitethorn from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas by saying “Rowan is abusive”. I don’t know a lot about what happened but now a bunch of people are in an outrage about haters. I want to put my opinion out there about haters because it is kind of different than the collectives opinion, only slightly.

There are only a few reasons people become haters, mostly it’s because you’re angry. I’ve been so angry that I have become a hater before but not for very long and I’ve never been very active in the hate. Now I’m not a hater often (only when hearing about The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, a book I hate so much) but sometimes I am.

 

It’s really stupid that people get so angry that they start hating. It’s for a few simple reasons like jealousy, they’re bored or they really don’t want anyone to make a mistake involving themselves with something.

  1. Jealousy: People want what other people have. Say you wrote a really good book but it didn’t sell well and then you see a New York Times Bestselling Author with a book that wasn’t even good. You will probably get a tad jealous and maybe decide to hate on the book. (This is just an example I thought of on the spot. I’m sure it has happened before but I honestly don’t know.)
  2. They’re Bored: There are a lot of haters out there who get bored and decide to hate on something.
  3. They don’t want anyone else to make the mistake of involving themselves with it: This is what I do on the rare occasion that I hate. Sometimes I hate a book so much that I don’t want anyone to read it. I do this with good intentions but we all know that a hater is a hater. This type of hater will preach about the problems with a book and try to convince you not to read it.

Authors work hard on books and when people start hating on them it is not good for their self esteem. Authors have feelings too and you shouldn’t say bad things about them even if you are anonymous online. They see these things and it hurts.

The problem is that hate happens. If you wish to share opinions please don’t be rude.

Leave a Reply

