Discussion: Are Audiobooks Real Books?

img_4012-2

This question has been asked a lot and I think everyone has agreed on an answer. Yes, audiobooks do count as real books. I want to write this discussion because in some ways I feel as if I am “cheating” by listening to audiobooks.

Why do you feel like you are cheating?

I listen to audiobooks a lot quicker than I read paper books. I listen to them at 2x speed and I do other things while listening. Personally I feel like books should be read off the page. I know that’s completely wrong and we are in a modern era where you can read anywhere but something in the back of the back of my mind keeps telling me that.

img_3994

Why are audiobooks real books?

Books are all the story. Whether you you read it on the pages of a book or listen to it via audiobook. As long as you are consuming the story you are reading the book.

Does listening to an audiobook count as reading?

It really depends on your personal opinion. While listening to the book I say that I’m listening to it. When I’ve finished listening to it I will say that I’ve read it. Sometimes I will say that I’m reading it while listening but normally I feel as if I am lying when I say that.

Do you consider audiobooks as real books?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Tasya says:

    I do consider audiobooks as “real” books. I think audio books really help people who don’t have that much time to read or people who just can’t read in general. It helps to spread the love of reading, so why complaining? 😊 I don’t listen to audiobook though, I’m too easily distracted and would lose focus easily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love audiobooks but these are just thoughts that are on my mind. It’s great that people who work can listen to audiobooks because they are very busy

      Like

  2. tonyalee says:

    OF COURSE! I have this debate with so many people it’s tiring. I don’t think it matters HOW you “read” the book – you are still reading it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those people are discriminatory against audiobooks. It’s like with people but books.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Keep up the awesome job !! Lovin’ it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

