Book Recommendations – Books with Magic

Surprisingly I haven’t read that many books with magic. Actually I’ve read plenty but they’re mostly books that are talked about all the time like Percy Jackson, Harry Potter and Throne of Glass. I’m recommending five books with magic that are fairly popular but I still rarely hear about them.

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1) by Margaret Stohl and Kami Garcia

This was one of the first YA books I have ever read and it was so good. There is a magic system where you have one specific power. There is amazing world building and overall a great story.img_5372

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

This one has contemporary themes but there is magic. If you want a book with a protagonist who isn’t good at magic then this is great. It’s like a Harry Potter retelling (if those can exist yet) but the plot is very different.

Shadow and Bone (Grisha, #1) by Leigh Bardugo

As one of my favorite books I can assure you that this is a good one. The magic system is complex because there are different types of magic and within those types are specializations, it’s pretty cool.

img_3899

A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, #1) by Libba Bray

When I read this I did not expect it to have any magic but I was completely wrong. There was only one girl who could do it but she could travel to this other world. It takes place in a boarding school in the 1800’s and who doesn’t love those?

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

This is probably the best Beauty and the Beast retelling that I’ve read. *hides behind chair* Probably even better that A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. There is an immortal ruler and a magical castle with moving room, sounds like fun? It’s definately not because you’re in suspense about Nyx’s fate.

Have you read any of these books? Do you recommend them?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tia Jenkins says:

    This is a really cool feature 🙂 I always love seeing recommendation posts! I’ve read Beautiful Creatures but wasn’t a crazy fan. It was still and okay read though. And I really want to read Carry On!! I have it downloaded, just haven’t found the time to read it

    Like

Leave a Reply

