Spells and Sorcery (Lexie Carrigan Chronicles, #1) by S. Usher Evans Book Review

book-review

I received an ebook copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

You have magic.

One sentence, three words, four syllables. Enough to change my life forever. And I’m not talking about the whole spells and sorcery thing.

Lexie Carrigan thought the weirdest thing about her was she preferred watching documentaries and reading the newspaper to reality TV and Twitter. But on the eve of her fifteenth birthday, her aunt and sisters drop a bomb–she’s magical.

Now the girl who never made waves is blowing up her nightstand and trying to keep from wreaking havoc on her school. When a kind stranger shows up with all the answers, Lexie hopes he’ll be able to help her control her newfound powers. But Gavon may not be as kind as he seems, and soon Lexie finds out that being magical is the least weird thing about her.

Spells and Sorcery is the first YA fantasy from S. Usher Evans, author of the Razia series, the Madion War Trilogy and Empath.

Goodreads Review

29933704

I read it every day on the bus to and from school because that was like my only time in the day to read. Now my bus ride is less than 10 minutes every day but I was able to get 2-5 chapters done a day. It took a few weeks but when I was done I was really sad that I wouldn’t have anything to do on the bus now. Luckily I now have like six unread S. Usher Evans books on my phone (I think I might actually have all her books.) and I’m going to read them every day until I run out.

The characters in this book were probably the most relateable I’ve read in a while. Lexie the main character is literally me. She is awkward, overachieving and she doesn’t stand for people telling he she can’t do things. Her older sister Marie is kind of like me acting towards my brother but in a more extreme way.

There’s a few times in the book when Lexie does not have good judgment. She’s putting all her trust in strangers she just met and accepting help without questioning them. There are a few times that she should be going to her aunt and telling her stuff that could save Lexie’s life but she doesn’t do that. You know that line that has been drilled into your brain “don’t talk to strangers”? Maybe you should listen to that.

I loved this book. Lexie is like my spirit animal. I gave this book a 4/5 stars and I cannot wait for Magic and Mayhem next year!

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

