I’m Writing a Book?

October 31, 2016 10:15 pm

I was getting ready to go to bed. NaNoWriMo’s beginning tomorrow and it’s been so long since I’ve read the outline of the book I’m planning on co-writing with my best friend. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to begin writing that book tomorrow. I’ll probably need to talk to Ayanna for a few days before we actually begin and I really want to start writing tomorrow.

I’m laying down trying to sleep for a few minutes when an idea hits me: A girl with anxiety starting at a new school who has a really hard time making friends.

I immediately grab a notebook and begin planning. I outline 13 chapters when I stop and decide to go to bed. I knew I would finish tomorrow.  This book is making me very excited.

That outline was never actually finished. I actually haven’t looked at that outline since that first night.

November 1, 2016 3:30 pm

I begin writing the book that afternoon. I write about 500 words then I’m stumped. What do I write? Is what I wrote before okay?

I know I’m not supposed to edit but I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was not supposed to write this story this way.

November 2, 2016 7:50 am

As soon as I get to class Wednesday morning I begin writing on my phone. Not the document I was writing yesterday but I new one. The words I was writing today told the same story as yesterday but today it felt right. In every class I was adding onto that story every chance that I got. This was going to be good.

Later that day I was writing a scene where my main character was going into her classroom and I added time travel. I had zero plan of including time travel before this. It just happened and I’m so happy for that.

So ya I’m writing a book. I’m super excited.

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a76

I am like four days behind on my word count but I’m going to catch up. When I started writing a few days ago I didn’t believe that I would be able to complete the 50k words but the days that I have been able to write I have always past the target word count. I have had a lot of homework the last few days so I have had like zero time to write.

The only think I will tell you is that my main character is named Alexis. She is going to a new school, she has anxiety, her dad is in the army, her mom travels to teach, and she is a time traveler.

If you are doing NaNoWriMo add me as a buddy here!

Leave a Reply

