Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the theme is books that you are thankful for.

I am thankful for….

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

At the end of June 2015 I was going through a really hard time. All my friends had ditched me  and this book was the only thing that kept me going.

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

This summer I broke my phone beyond repair and I had 6 hours of flying to get home. All I had was this book to keep me company. Also the flight was delayed four hours, I missed my connecting flight so I was home seven hours late. I wasn’t even in the mood to read that day but that book kept me busy and stopped me from breaking down crying a third time.

The Martian by Andy Weir

I read this book to prepare for the movie to go into theaters. I loved this book so much and talking about this book/ movie made me a new friend who eventually became a really good friend (although we aren’t really friends anymore…).

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

I read this book when my family visited England. It was the only time I had ever gone to England. I have distinct memories of reading this book at Stonehenge and not wanting to put it down because it was so good.

img_8603

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

After I read The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness I knew that I needed to read this. This book was so beautiful and deep. Plus the book contains my favorite quote of all time:

“If no one see’s you, are you really there at all?”

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I first read this book years ago and I love it. I’ve reread it twice since then but I want to reread it many more times. I have never related more to a main character and wanted to be them. I want a Levi.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This is the first YA book I have ever read. It was probably about 18 months before I actually started reading YA regularly. I went with my friend to go see Catching Fire in theaters the Thursday night before the day it was actually released (I felt realy cool doing that back then) and that would have never happened if I hadn’t read The Hunger Games.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

This series was a really big thing when I was in seventh grade because the movie came out. All my friends were obsessed with what faction they were in and it was so fun.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

This was one of the first YA books I read that really got me into YA. I read this entire series in less than a week on my Nook Tablet and after that I just moved on to other YA series. It was the beginning of my “first YA era” (right now I’m on my second).

Have you read any of these books? Are you thankful for any of them?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. The Martian is one of my FAVORITE books 🙂 I read it so much I had to take a break from it. LOL. A Monster Calls was a beautiful, heartbreaking read.

    My Thankful Fors

    Like

  2. You have a great list here! I am also thankful for the Martian even though I forgot to include it on my list. That book just killed me, it was so funny! My TTT Can Be Found Here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. The Martian is amazing and I love it when I meet people like you who have actually read it (because the movie forgets some of the best parts of the book)

      Like

      1. It really does! The book is a hundred times better because it is so hilarious! The movie was great too but the book man. That book is gold.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed Legacy of Kings! I have the book sitting on my shelf since I bought it months ago but I haven’t picked it up yet. I haven’t seen any reviews of it so it’s nice to see someone mention enjoying it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just recently started ToG but loved the first book (even though most have told me it is one of the worst in the series?). I am also excited to read The Kiss of Deception and The Uglies when I am can. Great choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. ToG is one of those series that keeps getting better as it goes on

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

