Letter to the Book Community

the-thanks-u-give

Here in Canada Thanksgiving was at the beginning of October, tomorrow is American Thanksgiving. I still feel as if it’s a good time to be thankful even though my thanksgiving was a while ago. I signed up for The Thanks U Give a blog hop hosted by Hazel from Stay Bookish and Mishma from Chasing Faerytales. I decided that I wanted to write the entire book community a letter sharing my thanks for them.

fall-theme

Dear Book Community,

You’ve been a constant in my constantly changing life. I’ve gone through friend drama and you’ve been there. I’ve moved across the country and you’ve been there. I’ve needed to cry about books and you’ve been there. Surprisingly it’s only been a year and a half since I discovered the book community and almost a year since I’ve started my blog.

When I first found the book community I found BookTube and followed authors online. Eventually I found bloggers and started following them. I didn’t participate in the book community much until the beginning of this year. Since then I’ve met so many amazing people and my life has been changed for the better.

Sure there have been a few rough patches during my time here. There’s a lot of drama but normally for good reason. The people in the book community fight for what they believe in (probably because of all the books where the protagonist fights for what they believe in).

Before joining the book community I was completely oblivious to issues such as lack of diversity in media and how uneducated some people are. I can now see the world with multiple different worldviews and I like it better this way.

Recommends Book was started on a whim. One day I wasn’t doing anything in class so I got on my phone and created a WordPress account. I didn’t expect it to turn into anything, I expected to try blogging for a few weeks and then give it up. It was a joke to me. It’s definitely not a joke anymore because blogging is one of my favorite things to do.

I love every one of you so much. Even if I don’t talk to you, you’ve made a difference in my life somehow. Everyone I talk to in the community is so nice and I just want to become best friends with all of you. If you’re looking for a friend you can always DM me on Twitter (@recommendsbook) and we can talk about random things like books (and I like to hear about your crushes and who you’re dating because nobody wants to date me).

Without blogging and the book community there would be so many amazing books I would never hear about. Like what’s A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, Passenger by Alexandra Bracken or The Union by S. Usher Evans? Books I wouldn’t know about without this community.

I hope to be part of this community for years to come. It’s been my escape from reality other than books, the original escape from reality (Netflix copied books). Blogging has been such a good way for me to stop stressing. I don’t want to leave the book community.

 

Thank you everyone for making my life better. I’m thankful for you.

-Breanna, Recommends Book

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

