More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera Book Review

book-review

Is it possible to say that I love this book enough times? Probably not anytime soon.

goodreads-summary

“In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?”

Goodreads link

review

19542841

Since this book has come out I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it. I’ve wanted to read it for so long but my library doesn’t have the audiobook on Overdrive so it took a while for me to start reading the ebook.

At first when I started reading the book I was a little disappointed. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things but all I’m getting is this guy loves his girlfriend (I though the main character was gay from what I heard). It took a little while but once I got farther into the story I was hooked.

This book takes place in the near future where at the Leteo Institute you can receive a memory-altering procedure. Our main character Aaron had a friend who got the procedure when his brother died so supposedly it’s the real deal.

A few months ago Aaron’s father died and he’s been in hell since. He has his amazing girlfriend Genevieve, his mom and the guys on the block but not many other people. One day at the beginning of summer Aaron meets Thomas and they immediately hit it off. Thomas and Aaron quickly become best friends.

The guys Aaron is friends with are not like anyone I’ve ever met but I’m pretty sure people are like that in this world considering what I’ve heard online. I would be scared to be friends with them. They are violent and probably need some help. Between the Leteo procedure where you can forget things and these guys I would hate to live in this world. I’m happy living in a suburban area even though the childs are loud.

Trust me when I tell you that this isn’t a cutsy teen romance. Sure Aaron has a girlfriend, he has crushes and stuff but it’s not about romance. His relationships play a big role in telling the story but it’s about Aaron. It’s about Aaron dealing with his fathers suicide, his newfound feelings and just his life in general.

At the end I literally freak out at what happens and I cry a lot. The first thing I do is Snapchat my friend Ayanna telling her to read the book and I tweet about it.

I’m sorry if you haven’t read the book yet but I can’t say much else without spoiling everything. It’s the type of story that you can’t really explain with spoiling so go read it. Please read it because it’s been over a week and I’m still freaking out.

*Skip over the spoiler part of my final thoughts.

spoilers

26236898So who completely didn’t see it coming that Aaron had already had the procedure? I didn’t and I like flipped out when I read that. I began questioning everything I knew about Thomas. One thing I knew for sure was that Thomas is strong.

omg I don’t even know if I can continue writing this. I swear I’m about to break down crying.

Aaron is forgetting everything now. He can’t create new memories. what? My sweet little Aaron I want to cry so much. What is he going to do the rest of his life? I love you Aaron.

I’m still a mess of feelings. I actually completely forgot that happened till I started writing this spoiler part. Now I’m a mess of feelings with un-coherent thoughts. If you feel like sticking with me with my mess I Love You but I’m fine if you leave.

I hope Genevieve has a good life. She shouldn’t have waited for Thomas because at this young age with all the influences in the media it was sure that he would remember his sexuality. I’m sure that they never thought he would remember all of it but isn’t your sexuality part of who you are. I refuse to believe that a procedure like Leteo will ever exist. I don’t understand how they can erase distinct memories and not others – we aren’t computers.

EVANGELINE I believed you when you said you were my babysitter. Now I find out that you’re my doctor. I don’t accept this. I feel completely betrayed and she needs to apologize to me because I didn’t have a childhood crush on you but somehow I remember having a childhood crush on you. (Sorry somehow I started talking like I am Aaron. Sorry not sorry these are my feelings too)

I love this book so much

final thoughst.png

I may have mentioned it a few times but I love this book so much. I gave it a 4.5/5 stars and a 5 stars on Goodreads. This book is beautiful and sad and I cry and everyone should read it. So if you haven’t read it go read it.

READ MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA!

READ MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA!

READ MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA!

READ MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA!

READ MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA!

Have you read More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera? What are your thoughts?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I get the impression you liked this 😉 great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I loved it so much. Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

  2. this book hurts the heartstrings. in the best of ways. I loved it! great review. 🙂

    -Sasha

    Like

Leave a Reply

