1-Year Blogiversary! How I’ve Improved in Blogging Since the Beginning

image
Original profile photo

It’s already been a year! I’ve been blogging for ONE WHOLE YEAR and it’s probably been the best year of my life (if you forget about all the bad stuff that’s happened in 2016. It’s just me personally).

I thought that it would be a good idea today to reflect back on how bad I was at blogging when I first started and how I’ve improved since then. Looking back I cringe so much at the formatting and writing. The links to those original posts are with the reflection so please feel free to cringe along with me.

banner

My First Post!

Welcome to my Blog

IMG_3434
My profile photo for so long

My first post was a short little description of why I started a blog. I’m pretty sure that half the stuff I’m talking about was a lie because I don’t even think I knew about blogging until someone asked me if I had a blog that morning. “I have been wanting to make a blog for a while and recently some people have inspired me on Twitter, so I’m finally doing it. ” Like I’m obviously lying in this. “I love to read book reviews” Oh please I never read book reviews before this. Maybe I watched YouTube videos with book reviews.

See ya later…” I cringe. This is so me and I think I may have written it not remembering that tone does not come across the same as when you are speaking.

banner

breanna-2
This profile pic started to annoy me…

My First TBR

December 2015 TBR

 

 

This is just titles of books and their Goodreads link underneath. There is no introduction, there is no bullet points. I was obviously a mess and if you look at my most recent TBR, my November TBR there is a big difference.

banner

My First Book Review

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness Book Review

qqq2v8_s_400x400
finally got the confidence to have a full face profile pic

All I did was give a two sentence description, use once sentence to say that I loved it, one sentence to say the illustrations were beautiful and another to say that it was becoming a movie. That literally tells you nothing about the book. In my current review format I add the Goodreads description and a bunch of small paragraphs about my thoughts on the story. My most recent review is of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera and it is a prime example of what my reviews should look like.

My second review is actually a lot better than my review of A Monster Calls. It’s a review of Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo  where I talked about what it’s about, how I got it and my OTP. It’s still not good but it’s definitely an improvement.

banner

Photos

A post with a lot of my photos from last year

OMG my photos were so bad. They are grainy and the lighting is terrible. I don’t see how i could ever have thought that they were good enough to put online. Today I take photos in natural light and/or I have my really bright lamp on.

Here are a few examples of my old photos:

A few examples of my photos nowadays:

Can you see how much better my most recent photos are? I actually edit them and use natural light now. Makes looking at my blog posts easier I bet.

banner

Thank you for sticking by me anytime this past year. All of you have been a big factor in helping to raise my confidence and improve my skills.

Were you good at blogging when you first started? Link me to your first book review and your most recent one so I can see how you’ve changed.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes, there’s a huge difference! It’s difficult for us to know what to do when we first start blogging but we eventually learn on our own or from other bloggers. You’ve come a long way and your blog’s only going to continue to get better. Keep up the great work and congratulations on this milestone! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. When I first started blogging I literally knew nothing so it makes me feel better when those like you say that I actually have and it’s not just on my head

      Like

  2. stslusher says:

    Congrats on year one & cheers to many more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I hope I have more years

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is great. Gives me a lot of hope. I’ve been blogging for over two months and if anything it’s been very therapeutic. I wonder where my blog will be in a year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wondered the same thing. If you stuck with it I’m sure it will still be up and running!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

