Fate of Flames (Effigies, #1) by Sarah Raughley Book Review

This book surprised me it was so good

goodreads-summary

Four girls with the power to control the elements and save the world from a terrible evil must come together in the first epic novel in a brand-new series.

When Phantoms—massive beasts made from nightmares and darkness—suddenly appeared and began terrorizing the world, four girls, the Effigies, each gained a unique power to control one of the classical elements: earth, air, fire, and water. Since then, four girls across the world have continually fought against the Phantoms, fulfilling their cosmic duty. And when one Effigy dies, another girl gains her power as a replacement.

But now, with technologies in place to protect the world’s major cities from Phantom attacks, the Effigies have stopped defending humanity and, instead, have become international celebrities, with their heroic feats ranked, televised, and talked about in online fandoms.

Until the day that New York City’s protection against the Phantoms fails, a man seems to be able to control them by sheer force of will, and Maia, a high school student, unexpectedly becomes the Fire Effigy.

Now Maia has been thrown into battle with three girls who want nothing to do with one another. But with the first human villain that the girls have ever faced, and an army of Phantoms preparing for attack, there isn’t much time for the Effigies to learn how to work together.

Can the girls take control of their destinies before the world is destroyed forever?

Goodreads Link

review

img_9732

I started reading Fate of Flames one day, I got like 80 pages in and loved it. Then I had to put it down and was unable to pick it up for like 3 days and when I finally did pick it up I zoomed right through it till I had 50 pages left. I couldn’t finish those 50 pages that day because I went to the author, Sarah Raughley’s book launch. I met a bunch of cool bloggers there and it was really fun. I finished Fate of Flames the next morning.

I’m not an escapist reader but I definitely escaped while reading this book. I got so into this book that my train ride to Toronto felt short. This is the first book that I’ve read in a while that I haven’t wanted to put the book down. Normally after every chapter during a book I look at my phone and answer Snapchats, I didn’t do that with this book because I needed to know what happened next. Sarah Raughley’s writing is so easy to read. You’ll be 50 pages in before you know it becuase of it. It’s rare to find an author who’s writing keeps you this engaged in a book.

The Effigies are a group of four girls who protect our world from these creatures from Phantoms. Each Effigy has the power of one of the traditional elements, fire, water, air and earth. There is always four Effigies and once one dies another girl takes her place. The Sect is an international organization that helps the Effigies by training them and protecting people from phantoms.

Maia is the Fire Effigy. She recently became an Effigy and has zero confidence in herself but she really wants to help. She is very curious and asks too many questions. If I was an Effigy I’d want to be her. She is a fangirl, a blogger and very shy. Doesn’t that sound like me? She literally has an Effigy fangirling blog and then she becomes an Effigy. It’s pretty ironic.

Belle is the Water Effigy. She is always fighting and is so scared for what’s to come that she’s in denile. The old Fire Effigy, Natalya (who Maia replaced when she died) was Belle’s mentor so it really hurts her to learn about her death. I think of Belle as the mom of the group because she has the most experience and feels kind of separate from the other girls.

Chae Rin is the Earth Effigy. She works at circus in Montreal and hasn’t really seen her family since they found out she was an Effigy. She does not want to leave that life because she’s really mad at the Sect for suspending her.

Lake is pop star, super model and the Air Effigy. She doesn’t want to be there because she has absolutely no confidence in herself. I actually really liked her and I can see room for her to mature a lot in the rest of the series.

0d1ffc9b-2cd3-4ef3-a53c-f605148fd704

All the Effigies have their own personal problems that they are dealing with throughout the entire book. It made the characters a lot more relatable and made me like them more. Unfortunately it was kind of annoying and got in the way of the major problems. I hope that in the sequel there is more light shed upon those personal problems because they would be a lot more interesting and less annoying if they fit in with the story line well.

If you’re looking for a diverse read this is definitely one to check out. Maia is half Jamaican, Chae Rin is Asian, Lake is British and Belle is French. I may not be the most qualified to inform you on diversity but many other bloggers who have reviewed this book have also mentioned it.

I NEED more backstory. That’s my major complaint because we start the story with no detail about what these phantoms are or. Throughout the story we slowly learn more about the phantoms and how they came to be but there is still a lot that I don’t know.

final-thoughst

Overall this story was amazing. It kept me interested and the characters were so real. I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars.

If you were thinking about picking up this book you definitely should.

Leave a Reply

