Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Looking Forward to in the First Half of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s one of my favorite Top Ten Tuesday’s of the year! This week the theme is anticipated books of 2017!!

These are 10 books that I’m super excited to read:

Sad Perfect by Stephanie Elliot

When I first read the summary for this book I started crying because I finally felt as if a character had an experience relating to mine. In this book Pea has ARFID (Avoidant/ Restrictive  Food Intake Disorder) and that is the closest thing I’ve ever heard of to what I have.

When I was younger I couldn’t bring myself to eat most foods. Today I can eat a lot of foods but there is something stopping me from eating plenty. It’s really hard for me to go out with friends and eat because I’m scared that they will judge me and make comments. For years I also had selective mutism to go along with my eating. I’ve gotten a lot better. Nowadays I just can’t eat fruit and a couple other things and I’m just labelled as shy. If you have ARFID I probably have nothing like what

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

This is a story of Grace who wants to get away from her family so she gets a boyfriend. Her boyfriend, Gavin may be charming but he is also controlling and dangerous. They get in a relationship but Grace wants to leave but it has become a prison. This book looks really interesting and gives me Dreamland by Sarah Dessen vibes. It comes out June 13, 2017!

Internet Famous by Danika Stone

Goodreads Link

Ahhh I’ve wanted to read a book like this for so long! The main character is a senior in high school who just happens to be internet famous. I’m really scared that this book will end up being all about a romance and nothing about being internet famous. I’ll have to read some reviews when the book comes out on June 6, 2017 to see if it’s what I want!

Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

Goodreads Link

I think this is a must have for any Hamilton fan. It’s a fictional novel about how Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler met. I NEED THIS NOW because I’m a huge fan of Hamilton! It comes out on April 11, 2017 and I’m so excited!!

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Goodreads Link

This book looks so good. It’s about 16 year old Starr who witnessed her best friend being shot by a police officer. It’s about Starr’s struggle for justice and I’m super interested in it. It’s coming out February 28, 2017 and I might have to preorder it!

Dreamfall by Amy Plum

Goodreads Link

Cata deals with insomnia so she decides to take part in an experimental procedure and ends up in a dreamworld with six other teens. All of their worst nightmares come true in this dreamworld. I need to read this book. I’ll probably be really scared but it looks really cool. Dreamfall comes out May 2, 2017!

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Goodreads Link

This story seems like it will end up being really sad… idk I just got that feeling from it. It’s about this girl who is immigrating to the US from Haiti. Her mother gets detained by the US immigration so she needs to go to her cousins house alone and deal with the whole American experience alone. This book seems really cool because I’ve never read anything like it and the cover is absolutely stunning. American Street comes out February 14, 2017!

Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

Goodreads Link

I read bisexual and I wanted to read this book. It looks pretty cool from the description because Aki falls in love with a girl on mission. I bet there is going to be some friend drama because the description makes a point of saying that Aki is only out to her bff Lori. I can’t wait to read this book when it comes out on January 31, 2017.

Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World

Goodreads Link

This is a “scrapbook” about feminism from a diverse range of voices. That makes me want to read it and I don’t even know any specifics. I definitely need this when it comes out January 24th, 2017!

Done Dirt Cheep by Sarah Nicole Lemon

Goodreads Link

This book looks pretty interesting. It’s about two girls who are seemingly against each other but end up becoming really good friends. I read this and I want them to fall in love but I doubt that will happen. This book comes out on March 7, 2017!

Are you excited to read these books?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. A new Amy Plum book? Yes! I am also anxious to read Bad Romance. Great list, Breanna. 🙂
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jess! I haven’t read any Amy Plum books before but this one definitely looks good!

      Like

  2. Great choices!! I included The Hate U Give and American Street on my TTT this week as well. I’m dying to read THUG – I’ve had it pre-ordered since October, haha. Internet Famous sounds pretty interesting as well (and I love the cover for it!).

    Here’s my TTT if you’re interested: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2016/12/13/top-ten-books-im-looking-forward-to-during-the-first-half-of-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. They all look so good!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Internet Famous does sound like it could be interesting. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Lauren @ Always Me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Np. It sounds really cool but I’m kinda scared for how it’ll turn out.

      Like

  4. I hadn’t heard of the book before reading your post, and Sad Perfect sounds like a really interesting read! That particular food issue sounds like one deserving of attention and the empathy that comes with reading.

    Like

  5. Some good books here – I’ll be adding them to my TBR list! The one about feminism looks especially good! I do love a good bit of feminism! Happy New Year! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Wonder Women looks amazing. The author Sam Maggs is a huge feminist so you should definitely check it out! Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

