Goodbye 2016… Hello 2017 // Looking Back on 2016

I’m writing this 15 minutes into the new year and somehow I already know that it’s going to suck. Sorry to break it to you but tomorrow will be just like any other day (except it’s a holiday). I’m just going to go back to my corner and turn the My Chemical Romance up loud.

Sorry about that I was being emo. 2017 WILL BE AMAZING! Is that better?

We all like to have high hopes for the new year. We all think that this year something will change. Maybe you’ll start exercising or you’ll be more social. Unfortunately normally those things don’t happen and it really sucks.

Those few sentences up there probably made me sound really depressing and like I don’t think change will happen. That is wrong. I have ‘plans’ to change this year and hopefully I will follow through with them.

I think that we can all agree that 2016 was pretty bad even though we did have some pretty great moments in there. Let’s not focus on the bad but instead the good. Like we were blessed with this photo of Justin Trudeau (Canada’s Prime Minister) so it couldn’t have been all bad.maxresdefault

In 2016 I finally found music that I liked. In the past I’ve always listened to whats popular because I didn’t know what else to listen to. In April my friends introduced me to Twenty One Pilots and Panic! at the Disco. From those two bands I’ve found a whole genre of music that was made for me. I now have a stable relationship with my music and I’m constantly adding new tunes.

Also I got to spend three weeks this summer in the beautiful Okanagan Valley at an expedition camp. I met some amazing people there from all over western Canada who I still talk to regularly. Some of the sights on my five day expedition are sights people from all over the world come to see. I did biking, hiking and canoeing and I’m probably going to go out and do some of this stuff on my own with friends.

img_9756

At the end of November I met some bloggers irl. These were people who I had been following online for months. I was so scared of them at first but they were so nice and welcoming.

I had an amazing trip to Cuba with my family for the winter holidays. I spent five days relaxing on a beach and another day in their capitol city, Havana. If you ever get the chance to go to Cuba I recommend that you go. They have the best bread I’ve ever eaten. I’m still obsessed with the bread and I can see myself mentioning it every chance I get. It’s weird, I’m obsessed with Cuban bread.612f1423652db7dcdd0dbe60571f888e

Those were some of my highlights of 2016 and I hope to have many more in 2017.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love all the positive things that 2016 brought to you! I also have plans for 2017 but honestly I have no expectations for it. I welcomed 2017 with a thought that, “it’ll just be another year”, yup I’m very optimistic too. But anyways, hopefully 2017 will surprise us and be amazing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope so. I mean I still have high hopes despite knowing that it’s just another year

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

