A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard ARC Review

*I received an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review

goodreads-summary

Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

From the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Things comes a love story about the times when a whisper is as good as a shout.

review

30197201I read ‘selective mutism’ in the description and I was like “SIGN ME UP” because I used to have selective mutism. I was always a quiet child but in first grade I stopped talking completely. I could talk perfectly fine at home and to my close friends. Over the years I gradually started speaking more and it wasn’t till fifth grade that I could actually speak out loud in class. For years I could only whisper to friends and teachers that I was really comfortable with. Now I can talk to anyone but I’m still really anxious about talking to people.

Representation in books is often not very good because the author did not do enough research or other various reasons. Let me tell you that the selective mutism representation in this book is so accurate. I was literally on the verge of tears because I was so happy about the selective mutism representation. The book allowed me to look back and reflect upon how much I’ve improved over the years.

The story is essentially about a girl who used to have selective mutism and now has severe social anxiety and a boy who is deaf. It’s a love story. If you love cute, lovey-dovey romances then this book is perfect for you. If you aren’t a big fan of cute, lovey-dovey then this book might not be for you. Personally I’m not the biggest fan of lovey-dovey romances so it got annoying at times.

Despite it being annoying it’s still really cute. I’m actually really jealous of Steffi and Rhys relationship. I need someone to date me so that we can be like them. That’s all I need, I’m not asking for much.

final-thoughst

I gave this book at 3/5 stars. I loved the selective mutism representation and because of that I will end up recommending it to a lot of people. The romance was kind of annoying but it was actually pretty cute. I’m going to have to check out Sara Barnards other book Beautiful Broken Things to see if its good!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

