Guest Post + Giveaway: Internet Famous by Danika Stone

Hey guys! I’m happy to tell you that this week we have Danika Stone, author of All the Feels (2016) and Internet Famous (2017) with a guest post.

Your personal experience of internet based relationships and how they have helped you write Internet Famous

There’s a strange perception these days that internet relationships are somehow less than those we develop one on one. I completely disagree! There are so many wonderful connections you can build online and so many ways in which to find “your people”. Especially for people who are in distant locations (like me, living in the middle-of-nowhere-Canada) or who have difficulties interacting face to face (due to anxiety, for example), the internet provides an interface that makes the challenges fade.

In my own life, I found a connection to other writers long before I ever published a book. I wrote for various fandoms, and discovered AMAZING writers doing the same thing. (Seriously though… there are “real” authors out there writing fic!) Many of these amazing women became my first beta-readers. More importantly, however, they became my friends. I’ve been invited to weddings of people I’ve never met in real life. I’ve sent postcards and celebratory mail to those ladies who are my ‘friends-family’.

Though not everyone ‘gets’ that connection, I do. And I wouldn’t give it up for the world.

How your passions have helped you in writing

Okay, straight up, I need to admit I’m a nerd. A HUGE one. In my real life, I tend not to flash this shiny geekdom badge, but online it’s all part of who I am. This passion for fandom and for fanfic and the friends that come from it became the backbone of my writing.

All the Feels (Macmillan, 2016) explores fandom and cosplay while Internet Famous (Macmillan, 2017) is all about blogging and those online relationships that one develops – some good and some bad. My passion for online culture is a MASSIVE part of what I write about. That’s what I know! I also feel it’s important that YA books accurately represent the people they’re writing about. That’s why in my stories, there’s a lot of internet chatter, texting, snapchats and the like. That’s how teens really talk. And I love it!

Books that someone who liked your books would also like

If you enjoyed Internet Famous and All the Feels, I think you’ll definitely like Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde, Geekerella by Ashley Poston, and of course the classic, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. All of them celebrate the awesomeness of online culture!

banner

Internet Famous Synopsis

31145123
Goodreads Link

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

Preorder Links:

Amazon- US:  http://amzn.to/2o2dg88 – Amazon – UK: http://amzn.to/2po6ZUm

Barnes & Nobles: http://bit.ly/2oZLWv5 – Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2oT3xFb

banner

About the Author

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens (All the Feels and Internet Famous) adults (Edge of Wild and Intaglio). When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

Ms. Stone is represented by Morty Mint of Mint Literary Agency.

Facebook – Twitter – Instagram – linkedin – YouTube – Tumblr – Pinterest

banner

fullsizerender-5

Rafflecopter Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One Comment Add yours

  1. Aditi says:

    Dear Breanna,

    Thank you so much for sharing these lovely Guest Posts Danika wrote on your blog. They’re such fun to read and you gave her such brilliant topics.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour, and we hope you had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

